Sports Desk

IND U19 vs AUS U19: India Under 19 Road To The Finals

Indian U-19 team will be excited to lift the ICC U-19 World Cup trophy for the fourth time; when they meet the Australia U-19 in the finals on Saturday.

Ironically it is the same team which India met at the start of the tournament and they have beaten them quite comfortably at that time. 

India have lifted the Under-19 World Cup trophy thrice and Prithvi Shaw will join the likes of Mohammad Kaif (2000), Virat Kohli (2008) and Unmukt Chand (2012) to become fourth Indian captain to lift the U-19 World Cup title if India beat Australia in the final.

Year Skipper Winner Runner up Host
2000 Mohammad Kaif  IND SL SL
2008 Virat Kohli IND SA MAL
2012 Unmukt Chand IND AUS AUS

The Indian side has shown an extraordinary performance to win all their five matches – one of which also includes a stunner 203-run win against arch-rivals Pakistan in the semifinal.

On the other hand, Australia has won 4 of their 5 matches in the tournament and one loss which they lost against India by 100 runs.  After this Australian team has made a terrific come back and won some close encounters to reach the finals

First Encounter between the two teams

Team Margin of victory Stage
v AUS U19 Ind U19 won by 100 runs League
v PNG U19 Ind U19 won by 10 wkts League
v ZIM U19 Ind U19 won by 10 wkts League
v BAN U19 Ind U19 won by 131 runs Quarter Final
v PAK U19 Ind U19 won by 203 runs Semi Final’s
India road to finals of ICC Under 19 World Cup

Top Scorer of the Tournament

Special Message from Rohit Sharma

When & Where
February 3, 2018 (Saturday) and Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

The match starts at 6:30 am Live at Start Sports (India)


India Under-19: Prithvi Shaw(captain), Shubman Gill, Manjot Kalra, Himanshu Rana, Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Harvik Desai, Shivam Mavi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ishan Porel, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh, Aryan Juyal, Arshdeep Singh, Pankaj Yadav

Australia Under-19: Jason Sangha(c), Will Sutherland, Xavier Bartlett, Max Bryant, Jack Edwards, Zak Evans, Jarrod Freeman, Ryan Hadley, Baxter J Holt, Nathan McSweeney, Jonathan Merlo, Lloyd Pope, Param Uppal, Austin Waugh, Aaron Hardie


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *