Sports Desk

IND vs WI: Prithvi Shaw Likely To Play Debut Test; Included In 12 Man Squad For The First Test

Team India will try to retain its domination and return to the victorious path after losing overseas series from England 4-1. Team India will try to gain confidence before the harder tour of Australia from the Test series starting in Rajkot against the West Indies.

India had lost in South Africa and England in the last nine months but still remains the world’s number one team in Test matches.

A big victory over the West Indies at this time will increase the morale of the Virat Kohli-led team which will undergo tough test again in the tour of Australia starting in November.

Mayank Agarwal and Mohammad Siraj will not be part of the Indian team in the Rajkot Test.  As

BCCI has announced India’s 12-member team squad for the first Test against West Indies a day before.

Prithvi Shaw Like To Make Debut

Batting maestro Prithvi Shaw is all set his Test debut in the first game of the two-match series, which means he will India’s 293rd Test player.

Shaw has scored an astounding 1,418 runs in 14 First-Class games thus far. The Mumbai batsman was also part of the Test side during the England tour where he was picked in the squad for the last two Tests. However, he didn’t make it to the playing eleven in both the Tests.

Shaw will be open the batting with KL Rahul followed by Pujara and then Skipper Virat Kohli.

Without a doubt Team India will go on field with three spinners. Rajkot has a pitch that is why the spin bowlers can only show up there.  Its likelynThree specialist spinners — Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav — have been picked and the pace pairing will be of Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav.

2 Match Test Series Schedule

Date Teams Venue
1st Test, 4-8 Oct 2018 IND vs WI Rajkot
2nd Test, 12-16 Oct 2018 IND vs WI Hyderabad 

India 12-man squad for 1st Test: Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw (debut), Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur.

The final XI however, will be announced by captain Virat Kohli at the toss on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *