Sports Desk

IPL 2018 Retention: Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings Combo is Back

Players’ auction for the Indian Premier League is currently three weeks away, but player’s retention was held today and teams have declared the names of those players whom they want to retain the team before the auction.

Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals are returning from next season after the ban of two years, which means in the IPL-11, Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Super Giant will not play. 

All IPL franchises have decided to name their cricketers for the 2018 season. Thursday at 5 pm was the players’ retention deadline. Now after this the IPL bid will be held on 27-28 January.

This year IPL will be played from April 4 to May 27. 

IPL will play 8 teams in 2018, which will also be auctioned at the players’ auction which will be held later this month. These 8 teams have the option that each team can retain 5 players. Six Teams Kings Ilven Punjab (KXIP), Delhi Daredevils (DD), Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are constantly playing IPL. On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) are returning after a two-year ban.

Full List of Players retained by the Franchisee

Royal Challengers Bangalore  

Player Price
Virat Kohli 17 Crore
AB de Villiers  11 Crore
Sarfaraz Khan  1.75 Crore

Chennai Super Kings

Player Price
MS Dhoni 15 Crore
Suresh Raina 11 Crore
Ravindra Jadeja 7 Crore

Mumbai Indians

Player Price
Rohit Sharma 15 Crore
Hardik Pandya 11 Crore
Jaspreet Bumrah 7 Crore

Delhi Daredevils

Player Price
Rishabh Pant  8 Crore
Chris Morris  7.1 Crore
Shreyas Iyer 7 Crore

Kolkata Knight Riders

Player Price
Sunil Narine 8.5 Crore
Andre Russell 11 Crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Player Price
David Warner 12 Crore
Bhubaneswar Kumar 8.5 Crore

Rajasthan Royals

Player Price
Steve Smith 12 Crore

Kings XI Punjab

Player Price
Axar Patel 6.75 Crore


IPL Retention: Without the use of RTM, teams have arrangements for direct retaining of maximum of three players. Some of these rules have been fixed in addition; there is also a salary cap.  

  • Maximum 3 caped Indian players.
  • Maximum 2 foreign players
  • Maximum 2 Uncaped Players

In the event of retaining three players before the auction:

Salary Cap:

  • Player 1: 15 million
  • Player 2: 11 million
  • Player 3: 7 crores

Before retaking two players before the auction:

Salary cap

  • Player 1: 12.5 million
  • Player 2: 8.5 million
  • Three players have to retain 1 Player Rs.15 crore, 11 million for second player and 7 crore for third player.
  • On retaining two players, the first player will get Rs 12.5 crore and the second player will receive 8.5 million rupees.
  • If the same player is retaken, then he can get a maximum of 12.5 million rupees.
  • An uncapped player will be given 30 million from the franchisee’s auction purse for retaining the above amount.   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *