Sports Desk

Ashwin to Lead Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2018

According to Kings XI Punjab official Twitter and and Franchise website Ravichandran Ashwin has been named the skipper of Kings XI Punjab for IPL 2018. The announcement was made during a Facebook Live session by Virender Sehwag.

Earlier Ashwin was brought by KXI during the IPL Auctions in January, he was bought by the Punjab side for a massive price 7.6 crore. He was not retained byr Chennai Super Kings.

After being named the captain, Ashwin told the team website, “I feel honored to be trusted with the responsibility of leading such a talented bunch of cricketers.” 

“There is no additional pressure on me as such. I first led my state side in first class cricket when I was 21. I have done it in the past and I am sure that I will enjoy the challenge,” Ashwin said.

He further added “I am confident of bringing out the best out of team mates. This is indeed a proud moment for me.”

Before this Ashwin has played for Chennai Super Kings till 2015, and in the last two years he was part of Rising Pune Supergiant. In 111 IPL matches so far, Ashwin has picked 100 wickets at an average of 24.99 and at an economy rate of 6.55.

Ashwin IPL Stats

  M Inn Wkts Avg Econ
IPL 111 108 100 25 6.6

Ashwin will be the 10th skipper to lead Kings XI Punjab. Before this, the likes of Murali Vijay, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, David Hussey, George Bailey, Adam Gilchrist, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara and Yuvraj Singh have led the team. 

Kings XI Punjab Squad:

Ravichandran Ashwin (C), Axar Patel, Karun Nair, KL Rahul, David Miller, Aaron Finch, Yuvraj Singh, Marcus Stoinis, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, Manoj Tiwary, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Zadran, Barinder Sran, Andrew Tye, Akshdeep Nath, Ben Dwarshuis, Mayank Dagar, Pradeep Sahu, Chris Gayle, Manzoor Dar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *