Sports Desk

Blind Cricket World Cup: India beat Pakistan by 2 wickets

India’s Blind Cricket team lifted the Blind Cricket World Cup trophy in Sharjaha by beating Pakistan in the finals by 2 wickets.

Pakistan, batting first, scored 308 for eight in their allotted off 40 overs. For Pakistan, Badar Munir top scored with 57 while Riasat Khan and Nisar Ali chipped in with a handy 48 and 47 runs respectively. 

The Indian team, chased the target successfully, and won the match with two wickets in hand in 38.4 overs. Captain Ajay Reddy 62 and Sunil Ramesh scored 93 in India’s victory. Before this, India won the toss and decided to field first.  

This victory of India has been memorable for two reasons. India has won this World Cup for the second time. Earlier, he won the World Cup played in South Africa (Cape Town) in 2014.  

On this victory of India, Prime Minister Narendra Modi also congratulated tweet. 

Narendra Modi tweeted: “Congratulations to our cricket team for winning the 2018 Blind Cricket World Cup! They make the nation proud and inspire every Indian with their game as well as phenomenal attitude. True champions!” 

The important thing about India’s title victory was that, team India has defeated Pakistan in the group match by 7 wickets on January 13. Both countries have won the blind World Cup twice.

Earlier, India had defeated Bangladesh by seven wickets in the semi-final as Ganeshbhai Muhudkar was adjudged the man of the match for his superb 112 off 69 balls to set up the pinnacle collide with Pakistan. Winning the toss, Bangladesh elected to bat and was restricted to 256 in 38.5 over’s by in-form Indian bowling department. The bowlers struck early as Bangladesh lost two early wickets with less than 50 runs on the board. For Bangladesh, Abdul Malik stood tall with an unbeaten 108.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *