Sports Desk

Asia Cup 2018: Which Team Will Be Victorious This Time?

Asia Cup is played to promote goodwill between Asian countries. It was initially scheduled to be held every two years. The first Asia cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates.

India won inaugural tournament in 1984, and then in 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010 and last one in 2016 (the only Asia Cup played in T20 Format). Team India have won the tournament most times i.e. 6 out of 13 tournaments played so far and this time they are the defending champions.

Sri Lanka has won the Asia Cup tournament five times, the second beat team. First time they won tournament in 1986 by beating Pakistan by 5 wickets and then 1997, 2004, 2008 and the latest one in the 2014.

Pakistan have won the tournament two times, first Asia Cup win come in year 2000 beating Sri Lanka by 39 runs in the finals and last one 2012 where the beat Bangladesh by just 2 runs.

On the other side Bangladesh managed to reach in the final twice but not able to win single time. But this time Bangladesh is strong contender, Bangladeshi are really playing well.

List of Winners of Asia Cup

Year Teams Venue Winners
1984 IND vs PAK Sharjah IND won by 54 Runs
1986 PAK vs SL Colombo SL won by 5 wkts
1988 IND vs SL Dhaka IND won by 6 wkts
1991 IND vs SL Kolkata IND won by 7 wkts
1995 IND vs SL UAE IND won by 8 wkts
1997 SL vs IND Colombo SL won by 7 wkts
2000 PAK vs SL Dhaka PAK won by 39 runs
2004 SL vs IND Colombo SL won by 25 runs
2008 IND vs SL Karachi SL won by 100 runs
2010 SL vs IND Dambulla IND won by 81 Runs
2012 BAN vs PAK Dhaka PAK won by 2 runs

Group Stage

Date Teams Venue
15-Sep-18 BAN vs SL Dubai
16-Sep-18 PAK vs HK Dubai
17-Sep-18 SL vs AFG Abu Dhabi
18-Sep-18 IND vs HK Dubai
19-Sep-18 IND vs PAK Dubai
20-Sep-18 BAN vs AFG 080

Super Four

Date Teams Venue
21-Sep-18 Group A winner vs Group B runner-up Dubai
21-Sep-18 Group B winner vs Group A runner-up Abu Dhabi
23-Sep-18 Group A winner vs Group A runner-up Dubai
23-Sep-18 Group B winner vs Group B runner-up Abu Dhabi
25-Sep-18 Group A winner vs Group B winner Dubai
26-Sep-18 Group A runner-up vs Group B runner-up Abu Dhabi


Date Teams Venue
28-Sep-18 Final Dubai


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *