Photo AP
Sports Desk

Dhawan Out, Mayank Agarwal and Mohammed Siraj gets Maiden Test Call

Shikhar Dhawan axed after poor run show in England tour, even his Man of the series performance not helped him to earn his place in 2 Match Test series against West Indies. Which also means chances of him getting selected for Australian tour is fewer. Mayank Agarwal and Mohammed Siraj’s after successful domestic seasons were rewarded with maiden India call-up o Saturday.

Mayank, on the other hand, was the top scorer in the last Ranji Trophy season with 1160 runs in 8 matches.

Mayank Agarwal Batting Stats

  Mat Inns Runs HS Avg 100 50
First-class 43 73 3372 304* 50.32 8 18
List A 70 70 3472 176 50.31 12 14


Mumbai’s Prithvi Shaw has retained his place in the side after failing to make the playing XI in the last two Tests in England.

Murali Vijay, who was dropped for the last two Tests in England, was once again left out of the squad while Dinesh Karthik and Karun Nair — both of whom were part of in the India Test squad for the Test series in England — have also been left out.

Karun Nair, who was not played in a single Test against England has been axed which is a shocking move.

Hanuma Vihari, was preffered over Karun Nair as he made a fighting half century on his debut at the Oval in the final Test.

Selectors rested both Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

“Taking stock of the recent workload, the selectors have decided to rest Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Both Ishant Sharma and Hardik Pandya were not considered for selection as they are yet to recover from their injuries,” a BCCI statement read.

Allrounder Hardik Pandya and bowler Ishant Sharma have been ruled out due to injury.

Team India Squad for West Indies Series

Virat Kohli ©
KL Rahul R Ashwin 
Prithvi Shaw Ravindra Jadeja
Mayank Agarwal Kuldeep Yadav
Cheteshwar Pujara Mohammed Shami
Ajinkya Rahane (VC) Umesh Yadav
Hanuma Vihari   Mohammed Siraj
Rishabh Pant (WK) Shardul Thakur

The first test against India will be held in Rajkot from October 4-8, with the second in Hyderabad from October 12-16.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *