Sports Desk

India Women (Cricket) Miss automatic qualification for the WC 2017 to be played in England

The ICC technical committee awarded Pakistan two points for each of the three not played matches, which were to be hosted by Pakistan and should have taken place between 1st August  and 31st  October.It said it had considered written submissions from the cricket boards of India (BCCI) and Pakistan (PCB) before making its verdict.”The technical committee was perceptive to the current state of dealings between the nations of India and Pakistan, but concluded that the BCCI had not been able to establish ‘acceptable reasons’ for not participating in this series,” the ICC said in a statement.

This judgment means India will miss out on automatic qualification for the 2017 World Cup in England as both teams falling into the underneath four of the championship’s points table. Eight teams are part of the ICC Women’s Championship; the peak four gain automatic entry into the 2017 Women’s World Cup in England. The base four will have to be eligible via a ten-team qualification tournament in Colombo in February 2017. The teams that have automatically qualified for the ICC Women’s World Cup, to be played in England from 26 June 26, 2017 to July 23, 2017 are Australia, England, New Zealand and the West Indies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *