Photo Credit: BCCI
Sports Desk

INDvENG: Indian team for the first three Tests against England has been announced

The BCCI has announced the Indian team for the five-Test series against England starting August 1. The BCCI has selected the team for the first three Test matches.

BCCI tweeted this information that Team India has been selected for the first three Test matches. Along with Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are also present, along with Rishabh Pant has been included in the Test team for the first time. At the same time Rohit Sharma once again failed to make the place in the Test team.

India, having clinched the T20I series and lost the ODI series 2-1, will take on England in the first Test at of the tour on 1 August at Birmingham. The other four Tests will be played at Lord’s, Trent Bridge, The Rose Bowl and Kennington Oval respectively.

Test squad(for first three matches): 

Team India Test Squad 
Virat Kohli (C) R Ashwin
Ajinkya Rahane (VC) Ravindra Jadeja
Cheteshwar Pujara Kuldeep Yadav
Shikhar Dhawan Hardik Pandya
KL Rahul Ishant Sharma
M Vijay Mohd. Shami
Karun Nair Umesh Yadav
Dinesh Karthik (WK) Jasprit Bumrah
Rishabh Pant (WK) Shardul Thakur

Regular wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha, who is still recovering from a thumb injury which he got during IPL, has not been named in the Test squad.

Saha’s absence has given Dinesh Karthik a place in the Test squad along with Rishabh Pant. While Karthik was also named in the Indian squad for the South African series after Saha suffered injury, the Tamil Nadu batsman didn’t feature in the playing eleven. Karthik also featured in India’s last Test against Afghanistan.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has not even got a place in the Test team. The BCCI said in another tweet that due to injury in the lower back, Bhuvi has not been included in the team. However, the BCCI will monitor their injury and if they fit, they will be included in the team.

Along with this, Jaspreet Bumrah has been selected in the team for the first three Tests against England. Mohammed Shami, who has failed in the Yo Yo Test against Afghanistan, has been included in the team after clearing in the 2nd attempt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *