Sports Desk

International cricket will be arriving to Pakistan in September 2017, as World XI will Play 3 T20I in Pakistan

After 2009  Pakistan fans and Pakistan cricket board finally have some moments of delight as long wait is over as the PCB issued a press release on Thursday stating that the 14-member World XI squad will visit Pakistan to play 3 T20I and team will include players from seven Test-playing nations. The players are set to earn US$100,000 each for a three-match T20 series will take place at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on September 12, 13 and 15.

The World XI includes three players from Australia, five players from South Africa, two from the West Indies and one each from England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The World XI team will be Led by South African Faf du Plessis and Former Zimbabwe captain and ex-England coach Andy Flower will be the coach of the World XI

Squad for World XI
Faf du Plessis (South Africa)
Hashim Amla (South Africa)
Samuel Badree (WI)
George Bailey (AUS)
Paul Collingwood (ENG)
Ben Cutting (Australia)
Grant Elliott (New Zealand)
Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)
David Miller (South Africa)
Morne Morkel (South Africa)
Tim Paine (AUS)
Thisara Perera (SL)
Imran Tahir (South Africa)
Darren Sammy (WI)

“I am honored to have been appointed as the captain of such a diverse, attractive and well balanced side. Like most of the players, I look forward to my maiden tour of Lahore and play my part in the safe and gradual resumption of international cricket in Pakistan,” du Plessis said on the historic occasion.

“All the members of the squad have complete faith and trust in the assessment and judgement of the security experts, who have assured us that there will be no comprise on the safety and security of all those involved in the series,” added Du Plessis.  

The World XI tour to Pakistan will be a step ahead towards reunion of cricket in the country as Pakistan will be hosting major international tournament after militants attacked the Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore in 2009.Since the attacks, Pakistan has only hosted a limited-over series against Zimbabwe in 2015 while Bangladesh, the West Indies, Sri Lanka and Ireland turned down offers over security uncertainties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *