Sports Desk


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 cricket league played in India during April and May of every year by franchise teams representing Indian cities. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. The title sponsor of the IPL in 2016 was Vivo Electronics, thus the league is officially known as the Vivo Indian Premier League. The current IPL title holders are Sunrisers Hyderabad. The IPL is the most-attend cricket league in the world and ranks sixth among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcast live on YouTube.

 Foundation of IPL

IPL was founded by BCCI in 2008 to prevent its committee member and its players to join ICL executive board, the Indian Cricket League in 2007, funded by the Zee Entertainment Enterprises.  The ICL was not recognized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) or the International Cricket Council (ICC). The BCCI increased the prize money in their own domestic tournaments and also forced lifetime bans on players who join the ICL, which was considered a revolt league by the board. Businessman and cricket executive, Lalit Modi, was given task by the BCCI to start a new Twenty20 league that would rival the Indian Cricket League. In early 2008, the BCCI announced the launch of the Indian Premier League, a new franchise based T20 league, which is among the first of its kind in the cricketing world. The league was based on the Premier League of England and the NBA in the United States.

Expansions and terminations

On 21 March 2010, it was announced that two new franchises – Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala – would join the league before the fourth season in 2011. However, one year later, on 11 November 2011, it was announced that the Kochi Tuskers Kerala side would be terminated following the side breaching the BCCI’s terms of conditions.

Then, on 14 September 2012, following the team not being able to find new owners, the BCCI announced that the 2009 champions, the Deccan Chargers, would be terminated. The next month, on 25 October, an auction was held to see who would be the owner of the replacement franchise, with Sun TV Network winning the bid for the Hyderabad franchise. The team would be named Sunrisers Hyderabad.

On 14 June 2015, it was announced that two-time champions, Chennai Super Kings, and the inaugural season champions, Rajasthan Royals, would be suspended for two seasons following their role in a match-fixing and betting scandal. Then, on 8 December 2015, following an auction, it was revealed that Pune and Rajkot would replace Chennai and Rajasthan for two seasons. The teams are the Rising Pune Supergiants and the Gujarat Lions.

Former Teams

Team Joined Exit Current Status
Kochi Tuskers Kerla 2010 2011 Defunct
Deccan Chargers 2008 2012 Defunct
Pune Warriors 2010 2013 Defunct
Chennai Supper Kings 2008 2015 Suspended
Rajasthan Royals 2008 2015 Suspended


2008 RR CSK Y Pathan (56 of 39 balls) RR won by 3 Wkts 
2009 DC RCB A Kumble (4 wickets for 16 runs) DC won by 6 runs  
2010 CSK MI S Raina (57 runs) CSK won by 22 runs
2011 CSK RCB M Vijay (95 runs of 52 balls) CSK won by 58 runs 
2012 KKR CSK M Bisla (89 of 48 balls) KKR won by 5 Wkts
2013 MI CSK K Pollard (60 of 32 ball) MI won by 23 runs 
2014 KKR KXIP M Pandey (94 of 50 balls) KKR won by 3 Wkts
2015 MI CSK R Sharma (50 of 26 balls) MI won by 41 runs 
2016 SRH RCB B Cutting (2 wickets & 39 runs SRH won by 8 runs

 Fastest Centuries in IPL

Player Team Against Score of Match Balls faced for 100 Year
Chris Gyale Royal Challengers Banglore Pune Warriors 175 30 2013
Yusuf Pathan Rajasthan Royals Mumbai Indians 100 37 2010
David Miller Kings XI punjab Royal Challengers Banglore 101 38 2013
Adam Gilchrist Deccan Chargers Mumbai Indians 154 42 2008
Ab De villers Royal Challengers Banglore Gujarat Lions 129 42 2016
Sanath Jasuriya Mumbai Indians Chennai Supper Kings 114 45 2008
Murali Vijay Chennai Supper Kings Rajasthan Royals 127 46 2010
Chris Gyale Royal Challengers Banglore Kings XI punjab 117 46 2015
Chris Gyale Royal Challengers Banglore Kings XI punjab 107 46 2011
Ab De villers Royal Challengers Banglore Mumbai Indians 133 47 2015

 Courtesy: Youtube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *