Ten most expensive spells in IPL history
Sports Desk

IPL 2018: Basil Thampi Bowled Most Expensive Spell In IPL History

Basil Thampi of Sunrisers Hyderabad registered the most disgraceful record under his name in the history of IP. Then match against Royal Challengers Bangalore on Thursday; Thampi gave 70 runs in his quota of 4 overs and become the first bowler to concede most runs in 4 overs spell.

Thampi looted 70 runs at the economy of 17.50 in 4 overs in the match. With the loot of so many runs, the shameful record of most expensive spell in an IPL match named in the name Thampi has been recorded. The RCB batsmen hit 5 fours and 6 sixes on his ball.

Earlier this record was recorded in the name of Ishant Sharma of Hyderabad when he had given 66 runs in 4 overs against Chennai Super Kings in 2013. Thampi is known for his yorker, but during the innings of RCB he was wandering from the line length. He bowled the first two overs, in which he scored 37 runs. After this, he gave away 33 runs in two overs. In this way this shameful record got their name registered.

Ten Most Expensive Spells in History of IPL

Bowler Figures For Against Season
Basil Thampi 0-70 SRH RCB 2018
Ishant Sharma 0-66 SRH CSK 2013
Umesh Yadav 0-65 DD RCB 2013
Sandeep Sharma 1-65 KXIP SRH 2014
Varun Aaron 2-63 DD CSK 2012
Ashok Dinda 0-63 PW MI 2013
Michael Neser 0-62 KXIP RCB 2013
Shane Watson 0-61 RCB SRH 2016
Ryan McLaren 2-60 KKR MI 2013
RP Singh 1-59 DC KKR 2008

Break the Indian record in T20:

If any Indian spell is considered to be the most expensive spell in the T20 match, then this record was recorded in the name of Srinath Arvind. The RCB bowler had looted 69 runs in 4 overs against South Australia in the 2011 Champions League. 

Most Expensive T20 International Spell 

The most expensive spell in Twenty20 International history is 0-69, by Ireland’s Barry McCarthy against Afghanistan in March 2017, while the corresponding record in all T20s is

The worst bowling record In T20s is Anwar’s name:  

If we talk about most expensive spell in T20s; then this record is recorded in the name of Pakistani bowler Sarmad Anwar’s 0-81 for Sialkot Stallions against Lahore Lions in a Pakistan domestic match in 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *