Sports Desk

Sydney Test: India will Step in to Make History

The world’s number-one Indian Test team will play the fourth and final Test against Australia on the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) if they win this match, then have the chance to make history for the first time in 70 years. In this Virat Kohli can also make his name as the first Indian captain to win the Test series in Australia.

The Indian cricket team, captained by Virat Kohli, is ahead in the four-match Test series 2-1 and now has the chance to win the series by winning the fourth match in the SCG. If India also draws matches, it will win the series 2-1 which will be its first series win in Australia after 70 years.

Virat Kohli will be the first among  Lala Amarnath, Chandu Borde, Bishen Singh Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Mohammed Azharuddin, Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Anil Kumble and MS Dhoni to lead an Indian side to a series win in Australia.

India had visited Australia for the very first time in 1947-48, where they lost the series 0-4. After that the team has played 11 series in Australia so far, but has not won a series single time. India have lost Test series 8 times in Australia while able to draw the series on three occasions. This is the 12th tour of Australia team India and if Virat Kohli win the series, he will become the first Indian captain to win the Test series in Australia.

Pitch of Sydney

Pitch will assist spinners; Team India has included 3 spinners in probable 13-member squad announced today. The Pitch curator, Justin Grooves says that this pitch is for everyone. This pitch is great for batting on the first day and after that for spinners will get assistance. It is said that the weather will remain warm and the sun will come out. However, the possibility of light rain is also being announced on the fourth and fifth day of the match.

India’s 13-man squad: 

Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.

Australia Squad

ATim Paine(c), Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Siddle, Marnus Labuschagne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *