Photo Credits: PTI
Sports Desk

Women IPL 2019 Will Begin Today

Most awaited women IPL 2019 will begin today from 19:30 IST standard time.  The first match will take place in Jaipur between Supernovas vs Trailblazers.

Unlike last year this year Women IPL have three teams which will be led by the three famous female cricketers of India: Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the Supernovas, in their blue and black colours. Smriti Mandhana will captain the Trailblazers in yellow and pink, and Mithali Raj will lead Velocity in purple.

Also notable is the inclusion of Jhulan Goswami, in the Trailblazers squad, who will play these games despite having retired from T2oI cricket.

Last year, the BCCI organised one exhibition match with two teams – IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas –led by Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana respectively

Here are the full squads of the three teams:


Indian players: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (wk).

Overseas players: Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Natalie Sciver (England), Sophie Devine (New Zealand).


Indian players: Smriti Mandhana (c), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana (wk), Rajeshwari Gayakwad.

Overseas players: Shakera Selman (West Indies), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Suzie Bates (New Zealand).


Indian players: Mithali Raj (c), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Komal Zanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma (wk), Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy.

Overseas players: Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Danielle Wyatt (England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh).

The Women’s T20 Challenge will be held from 6th to 11th May at Jaipur. The matches scheduled on 6th, 9th and 11th May will start at 19:30 IST. The second game, scheduled for 8th May will start at 15:30 IST.

DateMatchVenueStart Time
6th MaySupernovas vs TrailblazersSawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur19:30
8th MayTrailblazers vs Velocity Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur15:30
9th MaySupernovas vs VelocitySawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur19:30
11th MayFinal – 1st placed vs 2nd placedSawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur19:30

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *