IPL 2019 Final-MI vs CSK
Sports Desk

IPL Final 2019: Which Team Will Become The 4 Time Champion?

The end of the IPL 2019 season is just one step away. Mumbai Indians will face defending champions Chennai Super Kings at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Sunday.  It will be cracker of a final to watch, as both the teams having won the titles 3 times each.  Both the teams will try to win the 4th IPL title.

And Indian Premier League will have its 1st 4-time champion after Sunday’s final in Hyderabad

In league matches, Mumbai finished the campaign with the top spot in the points table. Chennai’s team is on the second number.

It will be a cracker of a final, Mumbai Indians certainly start as favourites. Having beaten CSK thrice in IPL 2019, MI have showcased why they are the only side in the league’s

Mumbai Indians team will be high in confidence as MI already have beaten CSK thrice in this season, two league matches and one Qualifier and are towards creating history as no team has ever beaten CSK  4 times in a season. And MI is the only  team in IPL history to have dominated MS Dhoni’s men (16-11 in head-to-head meetings).

Mumbai Indians wanting to make it three in a row as they had won the 2013 and the 2015 finals between the two sides. Chennai’s only win against MI in the final came when the two sides met for the first time in the title match in 2010.

YearWinnersRunner-upsFinal Results
2010CSKMICSK by 22 runs 
2013MICSKMI won by 23 runs 
2015MICSKMI won by 41 runs 

More importantly, Rohit Sharma has never lost an IPL final as captain, having led the Mumbai Indians to titles in 2013, 2015 and 2017.  

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is one of the biggest differences between the two teams. Winning the finals match them wisely. Although Rohit Sharma is also considered one of the most successful captains of IPL

For Mumbai, Quintin D. Coak, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard have shown great batting from the bat. This bowling work has been done by Lasith Malinga, Jaspreet Bumrah, Deepak Chahar.

Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis are looking at the better form of Dhoni’s team. Dhoni is also performing well. Apart from this, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar and Dwayne Bravo are doing the best in bowling.

Hyderabad pitch can be helpful for fast bowlers. With warm weather, rain can also be seen during the match. IPL final could be high scoring game.

Winners in IPL History

2008RRCSKMumbaiShane Watson
2009DCRCBJohannesburgAdam Gilchrist
2010CSKMIMumbaiSachin Tendulkar
2011CSKRCBChennaiChris Gayle
2012KKRCSKChennaiSunil Narine
2013MICSKKolkataShane Watson
2014KKRKXIPBangaloreGlenn Maxwell
2015MICSKKolkataAndre Russell
2016SRHRCBBangaloreVirat Kohli
2017MIRPSHyderabadBen Stokes
2018CSKSRHMumbaiSunil Narine

When and where to watch live

You can watch the live broadcast of Star Sports 1 and the Sports Sports in Hindi from 7:30 PM. Apart from this, matches will also be broadcast on Star Sports Select. On Mobile you can see all the matches on the Hotstar app.

Here are the squads for MI and CSK –

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Anmolpreet Singh, Siddhesh Lad, Ankul Roy, Evin Lewis, Pankaj Jaiswal, Ben Cutting, Ishan Kishan, Aditya Tare, Rasikh Salam, Barinder Sran, Jayant Yadav, Beuran Hendricks and Lasith Malinga.

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Shorey, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Rituraj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Mohit Sharma, K M Asif, Deepak Chahar, N Jagadeesan, Scott Kuggeleijn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *