Indian women team reached the finals of women asia cup devastating Pakistan by 7 wickets
Sports Desk

Women’s Asia Cup: The Indian team reached the finals devastating Pakistan by 7 wickets

Indian Women’s Cricket Team defeated arch-rivals Pakistan by 7 wickets in Women’s Asia Cup T20 tournament; with this victory the Indian team has made it to the final of the tournament. This is the seventh chance when the Indian team has confirmed their place in the final of the Women’s Asia Cup tournament.

Earlier after winning the toss Pakistan opted to batted first and scored a very low total of 72 runs for the loss of 7 wickets. In reply, the Indian women team achieved the target with 23 balls to go and 7 wickets in hand. Pakistan started well before winning the toss and the start of Pakistan was not good. Opener Nahida Abidi returned to the pavilion after scoring just one run. Captain Bisaham Maruf also scored 4 runs. Pakistan lost their six wickets in 15 overs.

Pakistan women played 69 dot balls and just four boundries in 20 over innings. The situation of Pakistan can be judged from the fact that only two batsmen could cross the ten-run mark. Sana Mir (20) and Nihida Khan (18) touched the double figures and other remained on single figures India’s Ekta Bist (3/14), Shikha Pandey, Deepti Sharma Goswami and Poonam Yadav got 1-1 in 4 overs. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana gave a solid start to the Indian team for batting. Mithali Raj was dismissed on duck while Smriti Mandhana scored 38 and Harmanpreet scored 34 not out. 

Breif Score Card:

Teams Score Overs
Pak-W 72/7 20
Ind-W 75/3 16.1

Final: India Women vs Bangladesh Women

Bangladesh Women defeated Malaysia Women to enter the final. Bangladesh defeated Malaysia by 70 runs in the third match of the day. They are the only team who have defeated India in the tournament and it will be a delightful encounter for the trophy on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *