Sports Desk

Virat Kohli becomes ICC ODI cricketer and ICC captain of the year

ICC Awards 2017

ODI Cricketer of the Year of 2017

India skipper Virat Kohli has been selected as the ODI Cricketer of the Year of 2017. Last year, he scored at an average of 76.84. His career average in ODIs is now 55.74, which is the highest in the world.

In the year 2017, Kohli scored 2203 runs at an average of 77.80, during which he scored 8 centuries. At the same time, his average was 82.63 and in this format he scored 7 centuries. At the same time, Kohli has scored 299 runs with a strike rate of 153 in T20.

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

Virat Kohli also received the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy from the ICC. Receiving the award, happy Kohli said, “It is important to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy by becoming the best player of the year and achieve the best player of ODIs in the ICC.” Kohli said, “I won the ODI Player of the Year 2012 It was a good luck to get the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the first time.

Steve Smith “Test Cricketer” of the Year 2017

Australian legendary batsman Steve Smith was selected as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. In 2017, Smith scored 1875 runs at an average of 78.12 in 16 Tests. It includes 8 centuries and 5 fifties. 

T20I Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal

In the T20 format, India’s young spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was dominated. His performance against England in Bangalore was chosen as ICC Performance of the Year. In the final match of the series, Chahal took 6 wickets for 25 runs and turned the match on his own side in favor of India. 

ICC Emerging Player of the Year 2017: Hasan Ali

The emerging player of the year award was given to Pakistan’s Hasan Ali. Hasan Ali took 13 wickets in the Champions Trophy.

Fans Moment of the Year

India’s defeat at the hands of Pakistan in the Champions Trophy final has been selected as the Fans Moment Of the Year.

The Associate player of the Year 2017: Rashid Khan

Rashid Khan becomes the associate player of the year; he picked 60 wickets for Afghanistan in 2017, which is a record performance of any player from the associate team in the calendar year.

Umpire of the year 2017

Marris Erasmus was selected as the umpire of the year. He has won this award for the second consecutive year. Eraassam became part of the ICC Elite Umpire Panel in 2010 and has officiated in 47 Tests and 74 ODIs, including the Champions Trophy. He is also an umpire in 26 Twenty20 Internationals.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2017: 

Virat Kohli (captain), Dean Elgar, David Warner, Steve Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ben Stokes, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada and James Anderson. 

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017: 

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Babar Azam, Abraham De Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hassan Ali, Rashid Khan and Jaspreet Bumrah.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *