Sports Desk

Hat-tricks in the History of IPL

So Far IPL has witnessed 17 Hat-tricks in 10 seasons. The very first Hatrick was taken by Lakshmipathy Balaji in IPL season 1 on 10-May-08 and latest entrant in the list was hat-trick of Jaydev Unadkat in last seson of IPL 10 on 6-May-17.

  • IPL witnessed Maximum 3 hat-tricks and those come in IPL Season 1 (2008), Season 2 (2009) and IPL Season 10 (2017).
  • Followed by 2 hat-tricks in IPL Season 6 (2013) and IPL Season 7 (2014)
  • IPL Season 8 (2015) not witnessed single hat-trick

Amit Mishra : 3 Hat-tricks in IPL

Amit Mishra has taken the most IPL hat tricks. He has 3 in his name and All three Mishra hat-tricks have come for three different teams, Delhi Daredevils, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad
Delhi Daredevils’ Amit Mishra picked up the 2nd hat-trick of the IPL exactly after five days of Balaji’s hat-trick.

Mishra picked up the wickets of Ravi Teja, RP Singh and P Ojha in the first three of the balls of the final over. Delhi finally won the match by 12 runs.

The second hat-trick for Amit Mishra came for him playing for Deccan Chargers against KXIP on 21 May 2011. He sent back Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh and Ryan Harris to seal the deal. DC finally won the game by 82 runs.

The leg-spinner, Amit mishra became the first player in history of IPL to take three hat-tricks by sending back Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma and Ashok Dinda out in successive deliveries in the 19th over. The Sunrisers Hyderabad effectively shielded a low score of 120 runs against Pune Warriors India.

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh holds the record for taking the most number of hat-tricks (2) in a single IPL season and he is next to Amit Mishra with 2 hat-tricks.

India’s star batsman Yuvraj Singh picked his first hat-trick against RCB. He picked wickets of  R Uthappa and J Kallis in the 12th over and then sent M Boucher back  on very first ball of 14th over. Moreover he also made 50 of just 36 balls in the match. But he was on losing side

Another hat-trick came for him against Deccan Chargers and this time it was on winning side. Yuvraj got Deccan Chargers’ Herschelle Gibbs out in the last ball of his second over.

In the 14th over, he picked up Andrew Symonds and Venugopal Rao to complete the hat-trick. KXIP win the game by just one run

Full List of Hat-tricks in the history of IPL

PlayerSeasonTeamAgainst DateVictims
Lakshmipathy BalajiIPL 1CSKKXIPMay 10, 2008Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla & VRV Singh
Amit MishraIPL 1DDDCMay 15, 2008Ravi Teja, RP Singh & P Ojha
Makhaya Ntini IPL 1CSKKKRMay 18, 2008Sourav Ganguly, D Das & D Hussey
Yuvraj SinghIPL 2KXIPRCBMay 1, 2009R Uthappa, J Kallis & M Boucher
Rohit SharmaIPL 2DCMIMay 6, 2009Abhishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh & J P Duminy
Yuvraj SinghIPL 2KXIPDCMay 17, 2009Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds & Venugopal Rao
Praveen KumarIPL 3RCBRRMarch 18, 2010Damien Martyn, Sumit Narwal & Paras Dogra
Amit MishraIPL 4DCKXIPMay 21, 2011Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh & Ryan Harris
Ajit ChandilaIPL 5RRPWIMay 13, 2012Jesse Ryder, Sourav Ganguly & R Uthappa
Sunil NarineIPL 6KKRKXIPApril 16, 2013David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood & Gulkeerat
Amit MishraIPL 6SHPWIApril 17, 2013Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma & Ashok Dinda
Pravin TambeIPL 7RRKKRMay 5, 2014Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan & Ryan Ten
Shane WatsonIPL 7RR SHMay 8, 2014Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques & Karn Sharma
Axar PatelIPL 9KXIPGLMay 1, 2016Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Bravo & Ravindra Jadeja
Samuel BadreeIPL 10RCBMIApril 14, 2017Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan & Rohit Sharma
Andrew Tye IPL 10GLRPSApril 14, 2017Ankit Sharma, Brendon McCullum & Manoj Tiwary
Jaydev UnadkatIPL 10RPSSHMay 6, 2017Bipul Sharma, Rashid Khan & Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Sam Curran IPL 12KXIPDCApr 2, 2019Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada & Sandeep Lamichhane
Shreyas Gopal IPL 12RRRCBApr 30, 2019Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers & Marcus Stoinis


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *