Sports Desk

India become World Cup Champion in 2011 on this day 6 Years ago…

On this day 6 years back India reclaimed World cup 2011 for the 2nd time since 1984. India beat Sri Lanka in the Finals by 6 wickets to reclaim the world cup title. This was the 10th ICC Cricket World Cup and was played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 2 April 2011. India became the third nation to have won the World Cup more than once, along with Australia and the West Indies. This was the first World Cup where both the finalists were Asian teams. This was the second time in World Cup history that a host nation won the World Cup Final and the first time to win on their home ground. Sri Lanka was a co-host when it won the 1996 Cup, but the final match was played in Lahore, Pakistan.

Match Officials:
The on-field umpires were Simon Taufel of Australia and Aleem Dar of Pakistan, with Ian Gould being the third (TV) umpire. All of these umpires are highly rated; Taufel has won 5 ICC Umpire of the Year awards, while Dar has won two Taufel had never been able to officiate in a World Cup final because Australia had been qualifying for the finals in the last four editions. Jeff Crowe was the match referee and Steve Davis was the reserve umpire.

Player of the match – MS Dhoni (India)
Player of the series – Yuvraj Singh (India)

Final Score Card of both teams:

Sri Lanka Innings (50 Overs) R SR B
WU Tharanga c Sehwag b Khan 2 10 20
TM Dilshan b Harbhajan Singh 33 67.34 49
KC Sangakkara*† c †Dhoni b Yuvraj Singh 48 71.64 67
DPMD Jayawardene not out 103 117.04 88
TT Samaraweera lbw b Yuvraj Singh 21 61.76 34
CK Kapugedera c Raina b Khan 1 20 5
KMDN Kulasekara run out (†Dhoni) 32 106.66 30
NLTC Perera not out 22 244.44 9
Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 6, nb 2) 12  
Total (6 wickets; 50 overs; 246 mins) 274

Did not bat: SL Malinga, S Randiv, M Muralitharan

India innings (target: 275 runs from 50 overs) R SR B
V Sehwag lbw b Malinga 0 0 2
SR Tendulkar c †Sangakkara b Malinga 18 128.57 14
G Gambhir b Perera 97 79.5 122
V Kohli c & b Dilshan 35 71.42 49
MS Dhoni*† not out 91 115.18 79
Yuvraj Singh not out 21 87.5 24
Extras (b 1, lb 6, w 8) 15  
Total (4 wickets; 48.2 overs; 230 mins) 277

Did not bat: SK Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Z Khan, MM Patel, S Sreesanth

5 Replies to “India become World Cup Champion in 2011 on this day 6 Years ago…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *