Sports Desk

On This Day, 2007: MS Dhoni’s young brigade defeated Pakistan by five runs to win the T20 World Cup first.

On This Day, 11 years ago i.e., 24 Sep 2007, this date and year was recorded in Indian Cricket History. After shameful exit from 2007 World Cup in West Indies, young Team India lifted the inaugural World T20 in 2007.

It is still fresh in every fan’s mind. On this day, back in 2007, MS Dhoni-led team India defeated the arch rivals Pakistan in the finals of T20 World Cup 2007 to lift the World T20 in Johannesburg. India emerged champion in a thrilling final by just five runs.

India Road to Final of World T20 2007

Date Teams Stage Venue Result
13-Sep-07 IND v SCO Group Durban No Result (Match Abandoned) 
14-Sep-07 IND v PAK Group Durban Match tied (India won the bowl-out)
16-Sep-07 IND v NZ Super 8 Johannesburg  NZ won by 10 runs
19-Sep-07 IND v ENG Super 8 Durban IND won by 18 runs
20-Sep-07 IND v SA Super 8 Durban IND won by 37 runs
22-Sep-07 IND v AUS 2nd Semi Final Durban IND won by 15 runs
24-Sep-07 IND v PAK Final Johannesburg  IND won by 5 runs

Batting first in front of a crowded Wanderers Stadium, India posted modest total 157 for six in 20 overs. It was Gautam Gambhir who guided his side to a competitive total after India kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Gambhir’s 34-ball 75 and Rohit Sharma’s 30 off just 16 balls towards the end helped India cross the 150-run mark.

Bowlers then kept India in the quest by reducing Pakistan to 77 for six. However, Misbah-ul-Haq had other plans in his mind as he single handedly took his team close to India’s total.

It all went down to last over as Pakistan needed 13 runs to win with just one wicket in hand. Dhoni then handed the ball to Joginder Sharma. After bowling a wide, Misbah smashed Joginder for a six down the ground and at that point of time, it looked like Pakistan would pull it off.

 19.1 – Misbah – 01 runs in front of Joginder Sharma (wide ball)

 19.2 – Misbah – 06 runs in front of Joginder Sharma 

With six needed off four balls, Misbah went for a mischievous scoop. He mistimed it as the ball went up high in the air straight in the hands of S Sreesanth at short fine-leg.

19.3- Joginder Sharma in front of Misbah-out, Caught-Sreesanth, Ball-Sharma

And all is history as Team India was become first World T20 champions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *