M S Dhoni will step into play his 300th ODI against Sri Lanka on Thursday
Sports Desk

MS Dhoni will try to break two world records when he steps into his 300th ODI

The 4th ODI against Sri Lanka will be ODI no. 300 for M S Dhoni when he steps in to play it; it will be special moment for the former skipper M S Dhoni. Moreover it could be record making ODI for Dhoni as he is just 1 stumping away from making world record of most stumping in ODIs equaling record with former Sri Lanka Skipper wicket keeper Kumar Sangakkara. M S Dhoni has also equaled the record of most not outs in ODIs; Dhoni became 3rd as he has 72 not outs and other two are Shaun Pollock (South Africa) and Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka). Moreover  he will be only the second wicket keeper after Kumar Sangakkara to play 300 games. The former Sri Lankan skipper represented his country in 360 matches as a wicket keeper-batsman. Australia’s Adam Gilchrist managed 287 games, while South Africa’s Mark Boucher played 295 matches for his country.

M S Dhoni will step into play his 300th ODI against Sri Lanka on Thursday
M S Dhoni will step into play his 300th ODI against Sri Lanka on 31 Aug 2017

Former Indian Skipper is now in fourth place on the list of most ODI runs for India, now he has 9608 ODI runs, with only Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid ahead of him.

Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS SR Avg 100 50
Sachin Tendulkar 1989-2012 463 452 41 18426 200* 86.23 44.83 49 96
Saurav Ganguly 1992-2007 311 300 21 11363 183 73.65 40.73 22 72
Rahul Dravid 1996-2011 344 318 40 10889 153 71.18 39.17 12 83
MS Dhoni 2004-2017 299 257 72 9608 183* 88.47 51.94 10 65
Mohd. Azharuddin 1985-2000 334 308 54 9378 153* 74.02 36.92 7 58
Virat  Kohli 2008-2017 192 184 31 9150 183 91.21 54.55 28 44

The ODI career of M S Dhoni was started on 23 Dec 2004 against Bangladesh team in Chittagong, Bangladesh and unfortunately got run out on zero in his debut. Basically the series against Bangladesh was not good for M S Dhoni as he just managed to score 19 runs from 3 matches. Dhoni got another opportunity against the Pakistan and it was the series where hit his first century of the career and came in Limelight.

M S Dhoni captained the team India in limited-over’s formats from September 2007 to 4th of January 2017 and in Test cricket from 2008 to 28th of December 2014. He has achieved everything as a captain and one of the most successful skippers of India. He has won ICC T20 World Cup 2007, ICC World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013. In Test matches, Dhoni has won Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 2008, 2010 and 2013. In 2009, Dhoni also led the Indian team to number one position for the first time in the ICC Test rankings. In 2013, under his captaincy, India became the first team in more than 40 years to whitewash Australia in a Test series. 

As Skipper ODI stats of M S Dhoni

Period Matches Won Lost Tied NR Win% Lose%
2007-2016 199 110 74 4 11 59.47 37.18


ODIs Runs Avg SR 100s 50s
 199  6633  53.92  86.29  6  47

Overall Batting Stats of M S Dhoni in ODIs

  Mat Inns NO Runs HS SR Avg 100 50 Ct St
ODIs  299 257 72 9608 183* 88.47 51.93 10 65 278 99

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *