Sports Desk

Provisional Skipper Rohit Sharma Says” basics of captaincy will remain the same”

The ODI series against Sri Lanka will begin from tomorrow onwards and the new skipper Rohit Sharma will lead the team India in ODI and T20I as well against Sri Lanka after Skipper Virat Kohli has been rested. India’s first ODI is at Dharamshala,Himachal Pradesh, the pitch here will be suiting the pacers because cold conditions. Rohit Sharma expressed his thoughts on his responsibility as the stand-in-captain of the Men in Blues in shorter formats.

The last time India played at the HPCA stadium was Australia in last final Test match of the series in March; that time it was Ajinkya Rahane who replaced an injured Virat Kohli as captain. This time, Rohit Sharma will take the rested Virat Kohli position against 

On Captaincy: Rohit said to will all different leading the national team in International cricket, “It will be completely a different ball game altogether but the process and basics of captaincy will remain the same.”

“We have a different set of players than the IPL team but having played with these guys for some time now, I do understand their strengths and weaknesses. It will be all about going there and executing and making everyone comfortable,” he added.

In IPL Rohit Sharma has good record as a skipper. Since taking over Mumbai Indians’ captaincy in 2013, Rohit has won the the IPL title thrice

Top 3 Run Scorer for India in 2017
Player Matches Runs 100’s  Avg
Virat Kohli 23 1275 5 79.68
Rohit Sharma 18 1076 5 67.25
Shikhar Dhawan 17 780 2 48.75

Rohit Sharma Stats in ODIs and T20Is

  Mat Inns NO Runs HS SR Avg 100 50
ODIs  171 165 25 6207 264 86.24 44.33 15 34
T20Is  68 61 12 1485 106 129.92 30.3 1 12


ODI Schedule of IND v SL

Date & Time Match Venue
10 Dec 2017 13:30 IST IND v SL 1st ODI at HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala
13 Dec 2017 13:30 IST IND v SL 2nd ODI at PCA Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh
17 Dec 2017 13:30 IST IND v SL 3rd ODI at Dr. Y.S. RRC Stadium,Visakhapatnam


Rohit Sharma would like to clean sweep the series and want to go as a No. 1 side in ODIs I New Year and not to lose a single match because it will affect the ranking of Team India if they lose to no.8 team in the points table. Rohit want to start better as a skipper.

On other hand Sri Lanka want to end their year with a win as they haven’t won a single ODI series in 2017

India squad for ODI series: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Washington Sundar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *