Sports Desk

CWC 2019: New Zealand Lost The World Cup finals, due to The Umpire’s mistake?

Last Night, England beat New Zealand to win the World Cup 2019. In the match, New Zealand batted first, scored 241 runs in 8 overs in 50 overs. The England team also managed 241 runs in 50 overs.  For tie breaker both played super over and after that, both the teams made 15-15 runs in the Super Over.

After which England were declared the winner due to hitting more boundaries in the match. During the match after the match, Winner team captain Eoin Morgan gave credit to the batsmen who played superhero during the award ceremony.

But the most talking point of the match was the fourth ball of the final over, with England needing nine runs from three balls, Ben Stokes hit the ball in deep towards Martin Guptill and ran  for two. Guptill’s throw hit Stokes’ bat and went away for four overthrows. Both the umpires got together and awarded six runs to England, thus bringing down the equation to 3 runs off final 2 balls.

However, it appears that the umpires – Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus – might have made an error in judgment giving England an extra run as the batsmen had not crossed on their second run when Guptill released the ball.

“They should have been awarded five runs, not six,” he said, adding that England’s Adil Rashid should have faced the second-last ball instead of Stokes as a result.

Taufel, a five-time winner of the International Cricket Council’s Umpire of the Year award, now sits on the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) laws sub-committee, the worldwide custodian of cricket’s sometimes obscure rules of play.

The Australian defended the match umpires, who he said had to make a complicated judgement, and said it would be “unfair” to say the decision altered the outcome of the tournament.

“Unfortunately that sort of thing happens from time to time. It’s a part of the game that we play,” Taufel said.

According to Law 19.8, pertaining to “Overthrow or wilful act of fielder”

“If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *