Sports Desk

Team India Year in Review 2017

Successive 9 Series Won By India

This year when India beat Sri Lanka 1-0 in three Test match series at the Ferozeshah Kotla in New Delhi, yet another milestone was achieved by the Indian skipper Virat Kohli. With this series win India equaled the record of nine consecutive wins which means Kohli, has now equaled the former Australian captain Ricky Ponting’s record of the most successive series wins as captain. 

The Ricky Ponting led Australia won nine series in the leap from 2005 to 2008. And now Indian skipper Virat Kohli accomplished this. Kohli did this form period between Aug 2015 to Dec 2017*

In this succession of nine series, India have won six at home and three away. Australia also had six home and three away series wins in their record. India have played 30 Tests in these nine series, winning 21 and losing two, with seven draws. Australia had played 26 matches, and won 22.

Team India No. 1 in Tests

Indian team not only retained their No.1 spot in Tests but also become No 2 Team in ODIs and T20Is

M W L Draw
11 7 1 3


29 21 7 1


14 9 4 1

2017 Year of Kohli

 2818- Runs for Kohli across all formats in international cricket in 2017 – the third-highest tally ever recorded in a calendar year. scored 1059 runs in 10 Tests, 1460 runs in 26 ODIs and 299 runs in 10 Twenty20 internationals including 11 hundreds (three double centuries).

The list is topped by Kumar Sangakkara with 2868 in 2014 and Ponting’s 2833 in 2005. With Kohli being rested from ODIs and T20Is against Sri Lanka, this is his final match of 2017.

Rohit Sharma’s Show at the End

Rohit Sharma became the only player to make 3 double hundred in the ODIs. He played 208 runs knock in the second ODI against Sri Lanka this year in Mohali. Opening the Indian innings, Rohit took 153 balls to reach his double century and hit 13 fours and 12 sixes in the process.

Rohit Sharma becomes the joint-fastest to hit T20Is fastest century, he took just 35 balls to do it. He equalled David Miller’s record – he had done the same against Bangladesh in October. The previous fastest T20I century among India batsmen was 46 balls by KL Rahul, against West Indies last year.

In this sequence he becomes the 5th player to score two centuries in T20 Internationals, including Rohit. Gayle, Evin Lewis, Brendon McCullum and Colin Munro are the others to achieve this.

India become first Team to Score Excess of 300+ scores 100 times

India is now the only team to have scored in excess of 300 ODI runs on 100 occasions. Out of their hundred 300s, India has won 78 times, lost 20 times. The other team next to India is Australia, who has scored 300 plus totals 96 times, winning 85 of them.

Young Gun’s Found

New-age spin twins Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav found by team India for ODIs and T20Is with Ashwin and Jadeja out from limited over formats. These two have grabbed opportunity with both hands

Jasprit bumrah and Bhuvneshwar kumar proved in 2017 that they are the one of the best death bowlers in the ODIs.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *