Sports Desk

Winners in the history of ICC Champions Trophy (1998-2013)

The ICC Champions Trophy is tournament organized by International Cricket Council (ICC). It is played in One day international (ODI) format and second most important tournament after the Cricket World Cup. It was inaugurated as the ICC Knock Out Tournament (Wills International Cup) in 1998 and has been played approximately gap of every two years since. Its name was changed to the Champions Trophy in 2002. Often ICC Champions trophy is also called mini World Cup.

The number of teams competing has diverged over the years; originally all the ICC’s full members took part, and from 2000 to 2004 associate members were also involved. Since 2009, the tournament has only involved the eight highest-ranked ODI teams as of six months prior to the tournament.

The first ever ICC Champions Trophy (1998 formerly known as ICC Knock Out Tournament) was won by the South African team their first ever ICC title in the history. 

In 2002 India and Sri Lanka shared the title as no result due to rain interference. The match was played two days and both the day match was stopped due to heavy rain in second innings of the game.

Australia is the only team to won the title on two occasions.

India is defending Champion this year

ICC Champions Trophy Winners

Series/Tournament Host Season Winner Runner up Skippers
Wills International Cup BAN 1998/99 SA WI Hansie Cronje
ICC KnockOut KEN 2000/01 NZ IND Stephen Fleming
ICC Champions Trophy SL 2002/03 Shared IND & SL None Sanath Jayasurya & Saurabh Ganguly
ICC Champions Trophy ENG 2004 WI ENG Brain Lara
ICC Champions Trophy IND 2006/07 AUS WI Ricky Ponting
ICC Champions Trophy SA 2009/10 AUS NZ Ricky Ponting
ICC Champions Trophy ENG & Wales 2013 IND ENG M S Dhoni

Indian team has better winning %age more then any other team in ICC-CT.


Team Span Mat Won Lost Tied NR %age
AUS 1998-2013 21 12 7 0 2 63.2
BAN 2000-2006 8 1 7 0 0 12.5
ENG 1998-2013 21 11 10 0 0 52.4
IND 1998-2013 24 15 6 0 3 71.4
NZ 1998-2013 21 12 8 0 1 60
PAK 1998-2013 18 7 11 0 0 38.9
SA 1998-2013 21 11 9 1 0 54.8
SL 1998-2013 24 13 9 0 2 59.1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *