Sports Desk

India Women beat Pakistan Women by 17 runs in Final’s of Women Asia Cup T20

India Women v Pakistan Women

Date & Venue: 4th December 2016, Bangkok

It was first and final match Women’s Asia Cup T20 which was gone down to wire and some fight was shown as India Women beat Pakistan Women by 17 runs and clinch the sixth title of Asia cup. India Women won the toss and choose to bat first total of 121 runs for the loss of 5 wickets. It was Mithali Raj who set up the win, scoring an unbeaten 73 as she notched 9th T20 fifty in the title match. Wickets kept falling on the other end but the right-hander held the innings from one end and kept the scoreboard moving.

In response, Pakistan women’s team started brightly with Ayehsa Zafar and Zaveria Khan taking the attack to India as both added 24 runs on the board but Jhulan Goswami bust the critical stand between the openers by removing Ayesha and proved to the turning point of the match.Captain Bismah Maroof gave some confrontation in the middle order but he was caught and bowled by Patil on 25 runs. India kept picking up wickets at regular period to keep the scoring rate down. In the end the target proved to be too much for Pakistan as they could only muster 104/6 runs in the allotted 20 overs. As many as five Indian bowlers ended up picking wickets, with Ekta Bisht being the pick of the bunch with statistics of 2/22.

The win also ensured India remained victorious in this year’s tournament, which was being played in the T20 format for the second time. Mithali Raj was judged the player of the match as well as the player of the series for ending the tournament with 220 runs in four innings and ending up as the tournament’s top run-scorer.

 Team   Score  Overs
IND-W  121/4  20
PAK-W  104/6  20

India Women beat Pakistan by 17 runs in final match of the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *