Sports Desk

IPL 2018: Another Feat Achieved By CSK Skipper MS Dhoni During Final

Yesterday Chennai Super Kings beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets to win their third IPL title at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday. 179 runs During this skipper MS Dhoni added yet another milestone to his name by garbing the record for most number of stumpings in the Indian Premier League.


MS Dhoni Most Stumping s In IPL History

MS Dhoni achieved the feat during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 final between Chennai Super Kings and SunRisers Hyderabad when the CSK skipper stumped SRH skipper Kane Williamson. With Williamson’s wicket, Dhoni took his overall tally to 33 stumpings. Before the final of the IPL 2018, Dhoni needed just one stumping to go past Kolkata Knight Riders’ Robin Uthappa, who has 32 stumpings to his name.


Kolkata Knight Riders captain Dinesh Karthik is in third in the list with 30 stumpings to his name.

Here are the top four cricketers with the most number of stumping’s in IPL History:

Player Stumpings Matches
MS Dhoni 33 175
Robin Uthappa 32 165
Dinesh Karthik 30 168
Wriddhiman Saha 18 115

Record of playing most finals in T20 Cricket

Apart from this, MS Dhoni has become the player to play the most final match in T-20 cricket. Dhoni played his 13th final of his T20 career. There is also Suresh Raina on Dhoni’s equation, who played 13th finals of his T20 career. Its Alva Ravichandran Ashwin is in third place by playing 10 T-20 finals.

 7 T-20 Tournament Winning Record

As captain, Dhoni’s name has also been recorded in the record of winning most T-20 tournaments. He has won seven T20 tournaments. Any captain who has not done so far till today. It includes three IPL, two champions league, one World T20 and one Asia T20 tournament.

 Another records made during this match, Bhubaneswar Kumar of Hyderabad bowled 10 consecutive Dot Balls. Earlier, the record was made by Dilhara Fernando of the Mumbai Indians team. Dilhara had bowled 10 dot balls in 2010 against Chennai.

Watson became the second player to score a century in any T20 league final. Earlier this record was in the name of Suresh Rain. Raina scored 109 runs in the final against the KKR 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *