Photo Credits: IPL
Sports Desk

IPL 2019: Super Over DC vs KKR and History of Super Overs in IPL

All is happening in the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). IPL 12 is just 9 days old and witnessed all, incredible team performances as well as controversies. But on Saturday night fan witnessed electrifying match which turned into a tie and resulted first Super over of season 12 of IPL

Delhi Capitals defeated Kolkata Knight Riders After the scores of both teams were tie in the 10th match of IPL 12

The is just turned a week old. In the seven days’ time that has passed, we have already been treated to a host of incredible individual and team performances as well as controversies.

In which Delhi Capitals (DC) team scored 10 runs, and in response, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) batsmen made just 7 runs, which helped Delhi win the game by 3 runs in eliminator over. Capitals tasted victory with the charismatic bowling of Delhi bowler Kagiso Rabada.

Delhi Capitals beat Kolkata Knight Riders on Saturday as Kagiso Rabada defended 10 runs in the Super Over. With this win, Delhi are now up to the second spot in the table with four points.

Delhi Capitals: 10 Runs

Ball Run
1 1
2 4
3 W
4 2
5 2
6 1

Kolkata Knight Riders: 10 Runs

Ball Run
1 4
2 0
3 W
4 1
5 1
6 1

Chasing a target of 186, Delhi were on course to a comfortable win set up nicely by Prithvi Shaw’s 99 off 55 balls. However, a mini collapse and a brilliant last over by Kuldeep Yadav ensure the match went into a super over.

In the super over, Delhi scored 10 runs and Rabada executed yorkers perfectly to restrict KKR to 7/1 and deny a win.

Super over between Delhi Capitals and Kolkata Knight Riders on Saturday (March 30) was the eighth Super Over in IPL history.

The very first Super Over in IPL was bowled in IPL-2009 and year 2013 witnessed 2 Super Overs. The seasons which went without it are 2008, 2011. 2012, 2016 and 2018

List of Super Over In IPL History

DateVenueTournamentWinnerScoreLoserScoreMatch No.
23-Apr-09Cape TownIPLRR18 for 0KKR15 for 1Match 10
21-Mar-10ChennaiIPLKXIP10 for 1CSK9 all outMatch 16
07-Apr-13HyderabadIPLSRH20 for 0RCB15 for 0Match 7
16-Apr-13BangaloreIPLRCB15/0DD11 all outMatch 21
29-Apr-14Abu DhabiIPLRR11/0KKR11 all outMatch 19
21-Apr-15AhmedabadIPLKXIP15 all outRR6 all outMatch 18
29-Apr-17RajkotIPLMI11 all outGL6 for 0Match 35
30-Mar-19New DelhiIPLDC10 for 2KKR7 for 1Match 10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *