Sports Desk

Australia vs England: Ashes 2017, The First Test Will Start In Few Hours

Australia and England recommence the Ashes 2017 Test series on Thursday in Brisbane. The first Test will be played at the Gabba cricket ground in Brisbane and this will be the first of the five Test matches of the series. While many have projected that Australia will be favorites to win the series, as Australia have clean swept the tourists 5-0 when England last toured down under in 2013-14, but on the other hand England has won last four of the past five series.

Here are the result of last 5 Ashes series between the two:

Series/Tournament Season Winner Margin
The Ashes (England in Australia) 2010/11 England 3-1 (5)
The Ashes (Australia in England) 2013 England 3-0 (5)
The Ashes (England in Australia) 2013/14 Australia 5-0 (5)
The Ashes (Australia in England) 2015 England 3-2 (5)

Overall Win/Loss percentage between the two teams

Team Span Mat Won Lost Tied Draw W/L %W %L %D
Australia 1882-2015 325 130 106 0 89 1.22 40 32.61 27.38
England 1882-2015 325 106 130 0 89 0.81 32.61 40 27.38

From past couples of years England team is in great form and has the two of the best fast bowlers in the world. James Anderson and Stuart Broad will lead the attack with Chris Woakes and Jake Ball as the subsequent bowlers while Australian team also has the aggressive attack with the likes of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins. While in batting is on equal level for both the teams.

Schedule of Ashes:

Date & Time Match Venue
23-27 Nov, 2017 12:00 AM GMT AUS vs ENG Brisbane Cricket Ground (Woolloongabba), Brisbane
02-06 Dec, 2017 03:30 AM GMT AUS vs ENG Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
14-18 Dec, 2017 02:30 AM GMT AUS vs ENG W.A.C.A. Ground, Perth
25-30 Dec, 2017 11:30 PM GMT AUS vs ENG Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne
03-08 Jan, 2018 11:30 PM GMT AUS vs ENG Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Sydney

Squad of Australia & England for Ashes 2017

Australia Squad
Steven Smith © Mitchell Starc
David Warner Pat Cummins
Cameron Bancroft Nathan Lyon
Usman Khawaja Josh Hazlewood
Peter Handscomb Jackson Bird
Shaun Marsh Chadd Sayers
Tim Paine Glenn Maxwell


England Squad
Alastair Cook Jonny Bairstow
Mark Stoneman Ben Foakes
Joe Root © Chris Woakes
Dawid Malan Stuart Broad
Gary Ballance James Anderson
James Vince Jake Ball
Moeen Ali Craig Overton
Tom Curran  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *