Sports Desk

Siraj and Iyer got maiden call in team for 3 T20I vs New Zealand; While Ashwin and Jadeja included in Tests against Sri Lanka

Deadly spin duo Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravinder Jadeja once again ignored in T20I as the duo are not part of squad that will play against New Zealand  for 3 match T20I series.

The two fresh faces Hyderabad pacer Mohammed Siraj and Mumbai batsman Shreyas Iyer are included in the Indian squad for the three Twenty20 Internationals against New Zealand, starting November 1.

Experienced Ashish Nehra has been picked only for the first T20I in New Delhi, which is scheduled to be his last match.

“Iyer has been prolific across formats — in first-class, one-dayers, T20 — he’s been performing consistently,” India’s chairman of selectors M.S.K. Prasad told reporters here on Monday.

“If we pick a player, we will give him a long run. The same applies for Siraj.”

Shreyas Iyer

  Mat Inns NO Runs HS SR Avg 100 50
First-class 42 70 3 3668 202* 79.75 54.74 10 18
List A 33 33 2 1189 140* 90.76 38.35 2 5
T20s  53 53 5 1289 96 128 26.85 0 9

                                                     Mohammed Siraj 

  Mat Inns Wkts Econ Avg 4w 5w
First-class 14 27 53 2.89 22.3 4 1
List A 13 13 20 4.78 24.3 0 0
T20s  16 16 26 7.85 18.73 2 0

Squad for T20I vs New Zealand: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Ashish Nehra (only for first T20I).

T20I vs New Zealand Schedule

Date & Time Match Venue
01 Nov 2017 07:00 PM IST IND vs NZ Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
04 Nov 2017 07:00 PM IST IND vs NZ Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
07 Nov 2017 07:00 PM IST IND vs NZ Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram

The 16 man squad for first two tests of the tree match home series to be played with Sri Lanka was also announced by BCCI which is scheduled in November. Ajinkya Rahane has been named as the vice captain.

Much awaited duo Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravinder Jadeja were called back in Test squad. Opener Murali Vijay and specialist pacer Ishant Sharma’ comeback into the Indian team

The month-long bilateral series between India and Sri Lanka will start from November 16 with the first match being played at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata. 

Squad for first two Tests: Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Har]dik Pandya, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The committee also named the Board President’s XI for two-day warm-up tie against Sri Lanka to be played in Kolkata on November 11 and 12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *