Sports Desk

Virat Kohli’s Seventh Consecutive Series Win; as India beat New Zealand by 6 runs in thrilling match

India beat New Zealand in 3rd and final ODI by 6 runs in a thriller; securing the three-match series 2-1 at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur on Sunday. Chasing 338, the kiwis were well on the track till the 46th over but Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s death bowling proved once brilliance for the team India as hosts register their seventh consecutive ODI series win since January 2016. 

The target was daunting but New Zealand fought brilliantly as Colin Munro (75 off 62 balls), Kane Williamson (64 off 84) and Tom Latham (65 off 52) before being restricted to 331 for 7 with the help of fine death bowling by Jasprit Bumrah.

Earlier, Rohit and Kohli both went into make hundreds as the duo added 230 for the 3rd wicket which fired India to a record 337 for six against New Zealand.

Kohli also became fastest to reach to register 9000 runs in ODIs. He took 194 inings bettering AB De Viliers who took 205 innings to complete this.  

List of top 10 player who took fewest innings to reach 9000 runs

Player Opp. Ground Match Date Debut Mat Inns
V Kohli (IND) NZ Kanpur 29-Oct-17 18-Aug-08 202 194
AB de Villiers (SA) NZ Wellington 25-Feb-17 02-Feb-05 214 205
S Ganguly (IND) AUS Melbourne 09-Jan-04 11-Jan-92 236 228
S Tendulkar (IND) SA Nagpur 19-Mar-00 18-Dec-89 242 235
B Lara (WI) AUS Melbourne 14-Jan-05 09-Nov-90 246 239
R Ponting (AUS) SA Port Elizabeth 05-Mar-06 15-Feb-95 248 242
J Kallis (SA) ENG Bridgetown 17-Apr-07 09-Jan-96 256 242
MS Dhoni (IND) NZ Mohali 23-Oct-16 23-Dec-04 281 244
Mohammad Yousuf (PAK) BAN Faisalabad 11-Apr-08 28-Mar-98 258 245
R Dravid (IND) PAK Karachi 19-Feb-06 03-Apr-96 280 259

Earlier, Kohli also overtook Hashim Amla in the list of most number of runs (all formats included) scored in this calendar year. When Kohli crossed the Kohli 10-run mark in the third ODI, he reached 2000 runs for the year. Next in the list is Hashim Amla, who has 1988 runs in 34 matches.

Kohli also became the second Indian after Sachin to have scored 2,000+ international runs in back to back calendar years. Virat’s done it in 2016, 2017 while Sachin did it in 1996, 1997 & 1998. Kohli averages 58.82 for the year and already has 8 fifties and 7 hundreds to his name, with the highest score of 204.

Moreover Bumrah also completed his 50 ODI wickets. Fewest to 50 ODI wickets for India:

Mat Player
23 Ajit Agarkar
28 Jasprit Bumrah
29 Mohd Shami
31 Irfan Pathan
32  Amit Mishra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *